Chance Encounters

IMG_2949

Chance Encounters

I could not believe my eyes
Running into you
today after 3 years

At first, I thought
I was seeing things
But it was really you

Your warm smile
Your chocolate brown eyes
Your lips

Everything came back
to me
in an instant

The heart flutters
The stomach butterflies
The nervous anticipation

I often thought of you
with tremendous fondness
and sadness

Remembering those
special moments
we shared

So many words unspoken
no way to undo
what had been done

So many times
I wanted to call
But was afraid …

Today taught me
that sometimes
I don’t need to be so afraid

Comments are always appreciated

