Thanks for the memories, les gars

panoramic-hockey-night-canada-18443862

Here we are, the day after our beloved Canadiens were ousted from the playoffs by the New York Rangers.

Am I disappointed? I’d be lying if I said I was not. However, a lot of good came out of these playoffs.

Am I sad? Not really. I had not been this excited about hockey in a long time and this playoff run made me fall in love all over again with the sport. If anything, these playoffs gave me hope that we can once again have a Stanley Cup winning team in Montreal.

There were some really ugly moments in these playoffs, particularly, the hateful racist tweets directed to PK Subban during the Boston series. How he responded to it shows how much he is maturing and how far he can go in this crazy game of hockey. But today, it is not a day to be negative, it is a day to focus on the positive.

With that in mind; I would like however to thank the following people for making these playoffs a wonderful memory that I will treasure for a long time to come.

PK Subban: Kiddo, keep doing what you are doing. Your exuberance and charismatic personality shine right through whether you are on the ice or not.

Dustin Tokarski: Wow !!! You kept us in there right to the end and you should be very proud of yourself.

Martin St-Louis: What can I say that has not already been said about you. I am certain your Mom is watching over you with a humongous smile. Your strength and perseverance are an inspiration.

Jack Todd: You’ve made me laugh, you’ve made cry. I really enjoyed our interactions throughout the playoffs. Oh yeah, I think owe me a trip to Vegas. Now, go finish that damn book !!!

Brian Wilde: As I said on Twitter earlier this morning, you rock. You are truly a gentleman. Looking forward to your French tweets, monsieur.

Marc Bergevin: Another classy man who has dance moves that might land him on Dancing with Stars one of these days. Who can forget this ?

City of Montreal: Man, I had forgotten how crazy this city gets when the playoff are on. It was great walking into a sea of red jerseys on game night; you could feel the excitement in air. Strangers high-fiving and talking to each other. Gotta love that.

Canadiens Team: What a bunch of plucky and enthusiastic guys. You had me on the edge of my sofa and I think you owe me a defibrillator. I’m already looking forward to next season, les boys.

8 thoughts on “Thanks for the memories, les gars

  1. Great post! This playoff run has been a real shot in the arm for the city. And it sure was fun seeing the whole city catch hockey fever again. Habs flags were everywhere. Driving past it last night, I noticed that even the Olympic Stadium tower was lit up with bleu, blanc, rouge lights.
    On paper they’re not one of the top four teams in the league so we should all be happy about how far they went. πŸ™‚

  2. Not a sports fan but I am a New Yorker. NY hasn’t had a winning team in any of the sports in a while. But then the Giants or was it the Jets won the supper bowl a few years ago. So my friend who was routing for the Rangers may be wrong. Oh well there’s always next year. πŸ™‚

Comments are always appreciated

