Love letters from Tom

When I saw this challenge on Friday, I knew that there were many ways that I could go with it and yesterday, I went with graffiti. Today, I am going with love letters from my first boyfriend: Tom.

I met Tom in the first few months of my college life. Tom was tall, handsome and athletic. He was everything I wanted in a guy or so I thought at the time. I had almost no experience in the dating world as I was coming from an all-girl Catholic school environment and was brought up in a strict Irish Catholic household.

As I recall, I was totally gaga over him and thought I was in love. Looking back on it now, I realize it was mostly the hormones doing the thinking. Anyway, as time went by, Tom was starting to pressure me to go all the way and I was having none of that as I was not ready mentally or physically.(I also knew if my dad found out, he would probably kill me) He would write me all these letters professing his undying love, how he was just happy to be with me and how he could wait until we got married to do it.

2014-04-27

2014-04-271

After a while, he saw that he letters weren’t getting him where he wanted to be, so he upped the ante by telling me he had a surprise that he was working on very hard and would be giving it to me really soon. I remember waiting a long time for this surprise and he even wrote me a letter stating that I needed to be patient. (ha! I doubt he saw the irony in what he was saying)

After a month or so passed, he finally presented me with the long awaited surprise: a mixed tape that he had made just for me. Of course, it came with a letter …

Top-004

Not long after that romantic tape, he dumped me to go out with a girl who put out. His friends were furious with him and I was left heartbroken and less trusting of people.

Probably the biggest sting of it was that Dad was right and that Tom was only after one thing all along.

5 thoughts on “Love letters from Tom

  1. Great take on the prompt! Glad you stuck to your guns 🙂 And ah, the lovely mixed tapes! Those were the days, weren’t they?! What do kids to now? My girls are only 4 and 7 – do teens make mixed playlists on their iPhones or iPods? So totally not the same!!

    • Thanks. Yep, the old fashioned way to show love. I don’t know what they do now. We would leave letters in the other person’s locker (the equivalent being a text today). Romance sure ain’t what is was.

  2. I am awarding you the Seed of Light Award. There are also 6 awards I’m offering to all my readers, which you can take any or all of those. If you don’t accept awards, sorry about that, it’s just my way of saying thank you for coming by. For more details, please view this post http://wp.me/p41c99-MI Take care, Sage

Comments are always appreciated

