Rest in peace Uncle Gerald

Top
Mom called to tell me
that the end was near
Although you had been
ill for 14 years
I did not expect to hear
this news today

Mom called to tell me
that it was over
Your suffering had
come to an end

We try to prepare
for these moments
But in reality
we are can never be ready

Today, I remember you
with great love and affection
The man who always made me smile
The man who always asked me where my next adventure would be

Today, I remember a man
of immense faith
Today, I remember an adventurous man who feared nothing

Today, I remember
with fondness
a man who always sang to me a child

Today, I say farewell
but not goodbye
as you will always live in my heart

So long Uncle Gerald

I’ll leave you with this song which I have always considered to be our song. I hope to see you under an apple tree on the other side.


23 thoughts on “Rest in peace Uncle Gerald

  1. I’m so sorry for your loss. I realize there are no words at these times, I’m glad you have such good memories of your Uncle. Those who touch our hearts live in them forever. Big hugs. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Sorry to hear you sad news of your loss, wishing you all the good things for your future.. take care. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. I just saw this post. Much love and peace to you and your family as you grieve. *hugs*

    Laugh. Cry. Scream. Numb and silent. It’s all a part of grief. Don’t let anyone tell you different.

  4. Pingback: 25 Days, 25 Songs — Day 21 & 22 | That Montreal Girl

Comments are always appreciated

